Political Diatribes

Another conservative take on the world around us

The Cult of Obama – in their own Words

Posted by The Diatribe Guy on November 15, 2008

Originally posted on http://digitaldiatribes.wordpress.com on February 21, 2008.

I have no reason to believe Barack Obama isn’t a nice guy. I have no reason to think he is anything more than a politician who has carefully crafted his message, with a charismatic ability to get people interested. I am completely and totally at odds with his politics. I recently took one of those online tests that tell me who I best line up with. Romney, Huckabee, and even McCain, scored values between 16 and 21 points. Barack Obama scored a zero. So, it is clear that my perceptions of his policies are not just perceptions. It appears that we don’t agree on, well, pretty much everything.

Having said that, I greatly enjoy watching the political process bear itself out. What started for me as an interesting race between Obama and Clinton, a race where I truly felt like both candidates were equally unacceptable to me, has started to actually concern me.

By concern, it’s more than just policies. As a conservative, obviously I am concerned about the typical liberal approaches regarding abortion, taxes, universal health care, and so on. This post is not a debate on those issues. We just disagree, and an argument will get us nowhere.

My concern is the emergence of what I see as some sort of Messianism. Now, don’t get me wrong with that comment. I am not suggesting that Obama himself has suggested that he is a Messiah. I don’t think he’s the antichrist. I don’t think he’s another treacherous leader that gets the people behind him to try and conquer the world, such as Hitler and Mussolini. What I am saying, however, is that he continues to grow a base of followers that are talking and acting more and more cult-like, who see him as a type of Savior or Messiah. Again, I must explain that I do not believe ALL followers fall into this category. I know enough people who understand his policies that make me believe that they actually follow him for the right reasons (right meaning “based on their beliefs, research, and analysis – he’s their guy).

So, what exactly am I talking about? Well, first we have the fainting people. By all accounts, this happens more than occasionally. Then, there are the humorous things, such as when the guy is getting applause for blowing his nose.

But it’s much more than that. It’s this idea that this man will magically come and solve all of our problems. True, all politicians tend to over-glorify themselves and make themselves sound more able to handle all the world’s problems than they really can. This is nothing new. The difference seems to be that the Obama cult-like followers truly believe that this is more than political feel-good rhetoric. And they are believing it, in many cases, without a lick of knowledge of what the guy stands for (admittedly this is my perception, but I don’t think it’s at all unfounded).

Let’s take a look at some of the pertinent quotes that lead me to conclude these things. I’ll start with this link from Politico.

Congressman Elijah Cummings: “This is not a campaign for president of the United States, this is a movement to change the world. You do not get 13,000 people in this auditorium with a campaign.”

George Clooney: “He walks into a room and you want to follow him somewhere, anywhere.”

Halle Berry: “I’ll do whatever he says to do, I’ll collect paper cups off the ground to make his pathway clear.”

Then there’s some nifty quotes from his wife, which frankly sound like a plan of thought control. I understand that this is hyperbole, but it’s bordering on outrageous: “Barack Obama will require you to work. He is going to demand that you shed your cynicism. That you put down your divisions. That you come out of your isolation, that you move out of your comfort zones. That you push yourselves to be better. And that you engage. Barack will never allow you to go back to your lives as usual, uninvolved, uninformed.”

But there’s more:

Gary Hart: I see Barack Obama as a leader for this transcendent moment, the agent of transformation in an age of revolution, as a figure uniquely qualified to open the door to the 21st century and to convert threat to great new opportunity.

Eve Konstantine: He represents our diverse whole: he’s brown, book and street smart, somewhat androgynous, strong while adaptive, and, above all, purposeful. He’s an amalgam of all that we are. He knows where he’s going, he understands what’s possible, he sees the current imperative, and he’s voicing it for all of us. He is a necessary response to the current zeitgeist. He’s our representation of who we might be as caretakers of the planet. He comes at the hour of our greatest darkness, after we’ve hit a national bottom on the world stage. He’s Everyman, in a way a that fine white male, brimming with integrity, or a competent white female simply can’t be….Quantum physicists understand that chaos is often a necessary precondition to the emergence of a newer, higher order. Now the “linked in” portion of all of us, our collective VQ, has contributed to the emergence of this young phenom at this precise point in our history, with the potential of leading our nation into another era – possibly towards a world we’ve only imagined. This is not so much about change, as it is about transformation. And it’s happening right before our eyes.

Egad. Need I say more? Maybe not, but I will.

Chris Matthews: I have to tell you, you know, it’s part of reporting this case, this election, the feeling most people get when they hear Barack Obama’s speech. My, I felt this thrill going up my leg. I mean, I don’t have that too often. No, seriously. It’s a dramatic event. He speaks about America in a way that has nothing to do with politics. Video link here.

Oprah: “You witness a politician who has an ear for eloquence and a tongue dipped in the unvarnished truth…It feels like I’m out of my pew, I’m out of my terrain…

Let me explain the scary aspect of this. To get caught up in such emotion and turn any man into your savior is always a recipe for trouble. Now, again, I have no indication that Obama has any plans to do anything extraordinary that would create a wave of concern, beyond the basic leftist politics that I would consider disastrous. But someone who is getting this kind of fawning, at the very least it should present a bit of a reality check. Obama supporters, be excited about your guy. That’s OK. Support him and vote for him. But do so on more than his charisma and speech-making abilities. If you support a pro-abortion Senator who wants to eliminate the Bush tax cuts and has proposed over $800 billion in spending in a recent aid package (0.7% of GDP!), then he’s your guy. But if you do not think we need we need higher taxes – the impact, a huge one, of expiring the Bush tax cuts – if you don’t want nationalized health care, if you are pro-life, among other issues, then do not get swept up in his charisma. In fact, if you truly are against these policies, he is much more dangerous than Hillary. Hillary would not be able to get many of those things passed through Congress. I’m not so sure Obama would meet with the same resistance.

Leave a Reply

 
